Author, Book Review, Journey, Networking, Romance Writers of America, Writing

Author Showcase: Third Day of Christmas – R.C. Matthews

For the Third Day of Christmas – Writer Style, I would like you to meet R.C. Matthews! She is another fabulous writer I am honored to have met through GDRWA, who truly inspires me to keep the stories flowing. She is also a wiz at Excel spreadsheets and is the calmest and most patient teacher I have ever had. At the beginning of the year when I was learning the Treasurer ropes, I called her more than once (with and without tears), and she was there like a lifeline telling me I could do it. Ultimately she was right, I finally have it down (I think)… but I would be the first to tell her that she does it way better 🙂

R.C. Matthews lets the stories guide her and writes everything from sweet to erotic, and contemporary to historical. She has a wide array of stories to choose from and there is bound to be something for everyone! Her latest book is a fairy tale retelling, includes Arachne which I am totally into, even though spiders aren’t really my thing. Getting her point of view is really refreshing and you can find the link here to Amazon. Here’s a blurb:

The Spinning Wheel – A Common Elements Romance

Spinning, spinning, forever she is spinning…

Once upon a time in a faraway land, there lived a master weaver named Arachne who challenged the goddess Athena to a weaving contest.

That didn’t end well for her.

Everyone has heard the tale of how Arachne became a spider. But few know the story of how she gifted Aphrodite with a gown spun from moonbeams, and in return, earned the chance to fall deeply in love and become a maiden again. Having learned her lesson for seeking glory and fame in her past life, she changed her name to Ariana and vowed to settle for a commoner, so as not to draw Athena’s wrath upon her once more.

Ariana stayed true to her plan, until one day a prince came knocking at her door…

The first book I read of hers was Devil’s Cove, which has been recently re-released and is also available on Amazon. You can find links to her Author page below. The blurb for Devil’s Cove follows:

Devil’s Cove – Tortured Souls Book 1

In his quest for revenge, a notorious pirate is torn between seeing his enemies fall and the temptation of a mysterious medium. Trying to reclaim his past life, he is drawn to Devil’s Cove Manor, where evil lurks within its wall, eagerly awaiting their arrival to enact its own plans for vengeance.

Feared as ‘The Devil’ on the high seas, Captain Devlin Limmerick is lured to a haunted manor by an unquenchable thirst for revenge. It is a thirst matched only by his hunger for the powerful medium he has coerced to aid him. Her presence at the manor invites strange, inexplicable happenings, forcing him to believe nothing is as dead as it seems. Especially his heart.

Grace has spent more time with the dead than the living. Blinded from youth and touched with an ability to communicate beyond the grave, she has been feared by the uneasy town folk. Yet she is powerless against the unrest brewing within the manor walls and finds herself wickedly drawn to the Devil’s darkness. Still, she refuses to sacrifice her soul to set Devlin’s unspeakable plan in motion.

Plunged into the throes of passion and danger, they discover the only way out is to search deep within and summon the courage to believe in love.

To learn more about the books that R.C. writes, be sure to check out her website at She can also be found on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Google Play and IBooks!